August 20, 2014, 10:30:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Carpenter ants in the ceiling  (Read 2514 times)
Harrytee
Kindlin' Collector

« on: August 12, 2009, 06:08:54 AM »

Hi guys, I'm a newbie. Anyway, I have a `94 Coleman Destiny that I bought new. I had it in storage for the last two years and when I went to pick it up I discovered that someone had unlatched the roof on one side and carpenter ants have eaten their way through the ceiling. It appears that they've eaten away the plywood right up to the wall paper (but not through the wall paper) and some of the foam behind it. And I can feel channels beneath the paper.

I called my dealer and he told me that all I could do is replace the top at a cost of $2,750! Well I only paid $3,300 for the camper when it was new! Being that she's 15 years old now I'd like to try to fix the damage myself before shelling out a pile of cash. So what will I find behind the wall paper? I'm assuming that there will be some kind of plywood/foam laminate which will have to be removed and replaced. And since the solvents in regular contact cement will melt the foam I was wondering if anyone has tryed using a water based contact cement? Also I'm guessing that the ceiling material is wider than a standard 4x8 sheet of plwood or paneling and the ceiling is made of two panels with a seam in the middle.

From the debrit found inside I'm guessing that the ants ate a bunch of the faom too and was wondering if I could fill those voids with a low expansion foam used for insulating around doors and windows, cut it flush with the existing foam, and then cover it with a new paneling? I've never repaired anything like this before and don't know how these things are put together. So any thoughts or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,